Free Summer Concerts in Chicago – 2014

The Grant Park Music Festival celebrates its 80th season June 11-August 16 in Millennium Park. Join Carlos Kalmar and the Grant Park Orchestra for the Festival’s 80th Anniversary Season opener, featuring the dazzling young piano sensation Natasha Paremski performing one of Tchaikovsky’s keyboard gems. The 80th Season of extraordinary classical music begins Wednesday, June 11.  Download the Season Brochure >.    Over the past decade, under the leadership of Artistic Director and Principal Conductor Carlos Kalmar and Chorus Director Christopher Bell, the Grant Park Music Festival has established a reputation for providing adventurous programming at world-class standards, in an environment welcoming and accessible to all.    The Festival operates today as a unique collaboration among the Grant Park Orchestral Association, the City of Chicago, and the Chicago Park District. The contributions of corporations, foundations, and thousands of individual donors help keep the music playing all summer long.

 

Getting to Millennium Park is easy with public transit, parking, and cyclist-friendly amenities all nearby the Jay Pritzker Pavilion.  Concerts in the Jay Pritzker Pavilion offer free seating on the Great Lawn or in the back half of the Seating Bowl. The seating closest to the stage is reserved for members,groups, and visitors with single-night passes.     Picnicking is a popular activity for many. You can purchase food and drinks in the park, or you can bring-in your own picnic. Since the Festival is located in the heart of Chicago, there are also plenty of wonderfulplaces to dine nearby.

 

FREE Open Rehearsals

Audiences can also watch as the Grant Park Orchestra and Chorus and guest artists rehearse upcoming performances. Rehearsals take place Tuesday-Friday afternoons all Season long. During breaks in rehearsals, Festival docents lead informal talks about the music, composers, and the history of classical music.

See the Events Calendar for an updated list of rehearsal dates and times.

 

2014 Schedule

(All programs subject to change)

June

  • Wednesday, June 11, 6:30pm
  • Friday, June 13, 6:30pm
  • Saturday, June 14, 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 18, 6:30pm
  • Friday, June 20, 6:30pm
  • Saturday, June 21, 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, June 25, 6:30pm
  • Friday, June 27, 6:30pm
  • Saturday, June 28, 7:30pm


 

July

  • Wednesday, July 2, 6:30pm
  • Friday, July 4, 6:30pm
  • Saturday, July 5, 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, July 9, 8pm
  • Friday, July 11, 6:30pm (at the South Shore Cultural Center)
  • Saturday, July 12, 8pm
  • Wednesday, July 16, 6:30pm
  • Thursday, July 17, 7pm (at the South Shore Cultural Center)
  • Friday, July 18, 6:30pm
  • Saturday, July 19, 7:30pm
  • Sunday, July 20, 3pm (at the Columbus Park Refectory)
  • Wednesday, July 23, 6:30pm
  • Friday, July 25, 6:30pm
  • Saturday, July 26, 7:30pm
  • Monday, July 28, 6:30pm
  • Wednesday, July 30, 6:30pm

August

  • Friday, August 1, 6:30pm (at the Harris Theater for Music and Dance)
  • Saturday, August 2, 7:30pm (at the Harris Theater for Music and Dance)
  • Wednesday, August 6, 6:30pm
  • Friday, August 8, 7:30pm
  • Saturday, August 9, 7:30pm
  • Wednesday, August 13, 6:30pm
  • Friday, August 15, 6:30pm
  • Saturday, August 16, 7:30pm

———————————————————————————————————————————————————————

Location:
Millennium Park, Jay Pritzker Pavilion
201 East Randolph Street
Chicago, IL 60601

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.