Free Outdoor Concert Series at Cantigny Near Chicago

Come on out to Cantigny Park on Sundays through Sept. 3 for the free outdoor concert series: free concert chicagoAll ages can enjoy concerts by bands from various musical genres. Feel free to bring a blanket, lawn chair and picnic basket. 3 p.m. Sunday, 3 p.m.: Tinley Park Arts Alive! Community Band (jazz); 3 p.m. Monday: Wheaton Municipal Band’s Dixie Cups (Dixieland). Cantigny Park at 1S151 Winfield Road, Wheaton (630-668-5161, cantigny.org), a 500-acre park with formal gardens, picnic spots and campgrounds also has two history-rich museums. Taking a tour of the Robert R. McCormick Museum, you can get a look at the life and work of the onetime Chicago Tribune editor and publisher. The historic country home was originally a farmhouse, built in 1896 by McCormick’s maternal grandfather, Joseph Medill.

 

The Sunday afternoon concerts at 3pm are always fun, always entertaining and always free. Most concerts are held in the bandshell, but some larger performances may be held in front of the *First Division Museum. **Military bands are subject to change.

 

Afternoon Concert Schedule

Sunday, May 27 Tinley Park “Arts Alive!”: Jazz Band
Monday, May 28 Wheaton Municipal Band’s Dixie Cups: Dixieland
Sunday, June 3 Ac Rock: a capella rock ‘n roll
Sunday, June 10 Zazz: Jazz
Sunday, June 24 Jose Valdes & the Mambo All-Stars: Latin
Sunday, July 1** *Navy Band Great Lakes: Wind Ensemble
Monday, July 4 *Southwest Community Concert Band: Patriotic
Sunday, July 8 Jin and Tonic Band: Country
Sunday, July 15 *Northshore Concert Band: Concert Band
Sunday, July 22 Denny Diamond: Neil Diamond Tribute
Sunday, July 29 The Legends: 70’s
Sunday, August 5 Celtic Sounds: Irish
Sunday, August 12 The Neverly Brothers: 50’s
Sunday, August 19 Roots Rock Society: Caribbean/Reggae
Sunday, August 26** *Air Force Band Mid-America: Concert Band
Sunday, September 2 Naperville Big Band: Big Band
Monday, September 3 Fast Eddie & the Corvettes: 70’s & earlier

 

Kids’ Concerts

Keeping with our “something for everyone” theme, we offer a Children’s Concert Series just for the little ones. These performances are engaging, interactive and so much fun. Concerts are free with parking, unless otherwise noted.

**denotes event with a fee.

FREE Kids’ Concert Schedule

Saturday, June 23 Jeanie B! and the Jelly Beans
Saturday, July 14 Steve Beno
Saturday, July 28 Super Stolie and the Rockstars
Saturday, August 18 Dave Rudolf
CLICK HERE FOR MORE INFO

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.